Chocolate-orange cake

I remember watching an episode of one of Nigella Lawson’s TV programmes where she made a clementine cake using whole fruits. Skin, pith, the lot!

Having found myself being in possession of six whole oranges that weren’t being eaten I decided I would use them to make a cake, rather than throw them away. After a bit of hunting around for Nigella’s recipe and looking through a few other recipes which use the whole fruit, I came up with a lovely, moist cake with plenty of chocolate and orange running through it.

Please note: the weights of the ingredients used seem a lot because I doubled an original recipe to account for the number of oranges I had.

I started by piercing five of the oranges with a skewer then placing them in a pan of boiling water for around 30 minutes. Then place the whole oranges in a blender and blitz until smooth and leave to cool.

Next, grease and line two baking tins and pre-heat the oven to 180c (160c fan). In a large bowl, beat together six eggs, 560g caster sugar, 480ml vegetable or sunflower oil. Gradually add in the cooled blended oranges (discard any pips).

Grab a sieve and carefully sift in 200g cocoa powder, 500g plain flour and three teaspoons of baking powder. Mix well and pour into the two tins, making sure they are equal levels.

Place the tins in the oven for around 55 minutes (or until a skewer comes out clean from the centre. Leave to cool.

Once cool, I chose to add chocolate-fudge buttercreamΒ between the two cakes and then again on top, but you could choose vanilla buttercream or chocolate ganache. I finished the cake off with a little grated orange peel to help enhance the orange flavour.

IMG_0392
Chocolate orange cake

PHOTOS: NIKKI GALLEY

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Cooking without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

All Things Nikki

Those things that make me, me!

MARZIA'S LIFE.

My online diary of moments and memories.

Netmums Blog

For real parents everywhere