Cote – Lincoln

Back in December, our work Christmas meal was held at Cote, Lincoln. I had never been before but had heard really good things about it, so I was excited to try somewhere new.

As soon as you step into the restaurant, you feel like you’ve been transported to another country: I didn’t feel like I was in Lincoln anymore. The decor was beautifully finished and the staff were friendly and approachable, ready to make your dining experience the best it could possibly be.

We all chose our wine and sipped this whilst browsing the extensive menu, a mixture of French classics with modern twists.

I chose the following:

IMG_9630
Starter: crab mayonnaise

Now, I have a small confession to make. It has only been in the past year or so that I have completely fallen in love with avocado. So when the crab starter was a blend of seafood, mayonnaise, avocado and capers, I knew it was going to be for me.

As I type this my mouth is watering at the thought of this starter. A perfect start to any meal. Sweet crabmeat with salty capers and the smooth tang of mayonnaise, accompanied by the rich avocado and completed with toasted bread. Utter bliss!

IMG_4748
Main: garlic butter ribeye

For main, I wanted to try something that I don’t usually go for. When I eat out, I tend to stick with chicken in any of its many guises. For this evening though, I really loved the sound of their steaks with a choice of sauce/butter. A medium ribeye with garlic butter, fries and watercress really hit the spot. All wonderfully seasoned and completely moreish.

IMG_2453
Dessert: chocolate mousse

Onto theΒ piece de resistance, dessert!
Amongst the menu choices for all things sweet, sat quite sedately, a chocolate mousse. I did slightly underestimate how big this was going to be. Having said that, it didn’t stop me devouring the entire thing. Deliciously rich and not too sweet. I even wanted to take the dish home with me (I didn’t!).

Overall, I absolutely loved Cote and would definitely go back again for a special occasion. It transports you to a place of luxury and decadence, right on your local high street.

PHOTOS: NIKKI GALLEY

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Rachael's thoughts...

On tips and tools for working in PR, living in the North East and much more.

Cooking Without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

All Things Nikki

Those things that make me, me!

MARZIA'S LIFE.

My online diary of moments and memories.

Netmums Blog

For real parents everywhere