Birthday cake for a 16 year old

Back in January my little sister turned 16 years old (where has the time gone?). To mark the occasion, I decided to attempt some icing modelling and create a MAC inspired make-up cake.

IMG_9785
MAC inspired make-up

With a little help from YouTube and some edible paper labels, I created a make-up brush, palette and highlighter using ready-to-roll icing.

I was really impressed with how the details came out for my first try. It perhaps could have been a little bit neater but that will come with practice.

IMG_2512
The cake

The cake itself was a lovely vanilla and chocolate sponge with chocolate buttercream and I completed it with a handmade ’16’ badge and happy birthday lettering. It went down a storm!

PHOTOS: NIKKI GALLEY

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Cooking without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

All Things Nikki

Those things that make me, me!

MARZIA'S LIFE.

My online diary of moments and memories.

Netmums Blog

For real parents everywhere

